Skip to content
Hide Thread

Compare · Comparisons

Ekster vs VULKIT

The lever is the same idea in both. What separates them is a named leather grade and a tracker on one side, and a cash compartment and a coin zip on the other — at roughly a third of the money.

By Stephen V.Updated How we research
#ad

We earn a commission when you buy through our Amazon links, at no extra cost to you. It never affects our picks, and we say so when the cheaper wallet is the better buy. How this works.

If the mechanism is why you are here and you only want it once, buy the Ekster Parliament — it is the only one of the four whose listing names a leather grade (top-grain over an aluminum cage), the only one with a published twelve-card ceiling, and the only one with a tracker card you can add later. If you want to find out whether you actually like a pop-up wallet before committing, buy the VULKIT Pop-Up Card Holder, which delivers a functionally identical thumb lever for a fraction of the price and is honest enough to publish seven cards in its bullets while its own title says eight. The brand you should not choose on brand is either: the deciding question is what you need the wallet to do about cash.

The mechanism is not the difference

Both brands build the same object: a stack of cards held in a sprung aluminum cage, fanned into a staircase by a thumb lever, wrapped in leather or left bare. That is the party trick people buy these for, and across the four picks here it works the same way and has the same limits. We cover those limits in full on the card-holder capacity guide and on the pop-up roundup, and the important one is a floor rather than a ceiling: a friction cage needs a minimum stack to retain anything, and one listing in this category publishes that minimum as three cards. A single card in a cage is not secure in any of these.

So choosing between Ekster and VULKIT is not choosing between mechanisms. It is choosing between two different sets of published claims around an identical idea, and they differ in three specific ways.

Difference one: Ekster names the leather. VULKIT mostly does not

The Ekster Parliament listing says top-grain leather over an RFID-blocking aluminum cage. That is a grade, it sits one rung below full-grain on the ladder our grade explainer walks through, and it is checkable.

Across VULKIT's range, the material language is “leather”, “supple leather” and “PREMIUM LEATHER CASE”. None of those is a grade. The single exception is worth knowing because it inverts what you would expect: the one VULKIT whose bullets name a leather is the cheapest model in the line, a four-slot nappa card holder with no cage at all. The most expensive wallet the brand sells names no grade; the least expensive one does.

We have printed that exactly as the listings have it, including on the VULKIT brand review. It is not a claim that VULKIT's hide is bad — we have no way to know, which is the point. It is a claim about what you are able to verify before you pay.

Difference two: VULKIT solves cash and coins. Ekster solves tracking

This is the difference that should actually decide your purchase, and it is the one neither brand frames as a choice.

Ekster carries cash on the outside. Both Ekster picks here use an expandable back or an elastic strap. A US note is 6.14 inches long, so getting it behind a card-sized wallet means folding it twice and then holding it against the wallet's back. It works, it is visible, and it is the thing our Ekster review flags as the format's weak point. What Ekster has instead is an ecosystem: a solar-powered tracker card sized for the wallet, which makes the whole thing findable. No VULKIT model offers that.

VULKIT builds the cash in. The brand's range includes a trifold with a genuine full-length bill compartment — notes lie in it the way they lie in a billfold, one fold rather than two — and a top-of-range model with a note pocket and a zipped coin pocket behind a magnetic flap. That coin zip is the only answer to loose change anywhere in this entire format, from either brand. Its listing also describes the note pocket for multiple currencies rather than just US bills, which is a more specific design statement than it looks: euro notes above €20 are up to 11 mm taller than a US note, so a pocket cut to a dollar is not automatically cut to a fifty-euro note. We go into that on the foreign-notes guide.

Difference three: the price gap, and what it is actually for

The Ekster models cost multiples of the VULKIT ones — read the live prices above rather than a figure in this prose, because that is the only honest way to publish it. What the gap buys, as far as the listings will support:

What you are decidingEksterVULKIT
Leather grade stated in the bulletsYes — top-grain (Parliament)Only on the nappa holder, which has no cage
Published card ceilingUp to 127 to 10 depending on model, cage holds 5 in all of them
How cash is carriedOutside, on a strap or expandable backInside — a full bill compartment or a note pocket, model depending
CoinsNot addressed by any modelA zipped coin pocket on the top model
TrackerA solar tracker card sized for the walletNot offered — one model is sized to take an AirTag
An all-metal optionYes, aluminum, same mechanism, no leatherYes, a metal card case publishing 0.31 in
Published closed thicknessNot published in the bulletsNot published on any leather model; 0.31 in on the metal case

The last row is the one both brands fail, and it is the specification a front-pocket buyer most wants. Not one leather pop-up wallet from either brand publishes how thick it is closed. That is a category-wide gap rather than a brand failure, and it is the reason our thickness guide works from the ISO card figure instead: a payment card is 0.03 inches, so five cards in a cage is 0.15 inches of plastic before any leather, aluminum or lever is counted.

Which one to buy

Buy Ekster if the wallet is the purchase rather than the experiment: you want a named leather grade, you carry cards and little cash, and the tracker is genuinely appealing. It is also the right choice if you have already owned a cheap pop-up and know you like the format.

Buy VULKIT if you carry notes, or coins, or you are not yet sure that a mechanical cardholder is for you. The cheap pop-up is the lowest-risk way to find out whether you will still enjoy the lever in month three, and if the answer is no you have lost very little. If the answer is yes, you will know exactly which features you missed.

Buy neither if you carry one or two cards, because a cage needs a stack to grip — our two-and-three-card page exists for exactly that carry and recommends sewn slots and clips instead. And buy neither if the real problem is bulk from cards you do not use; half an hour of sorting is free and solves more of this than a mechanism does.

What about Ridge?

“Ridge wallet vs VULKIT” shows up in the same autocomplete block, and it is a different comparison because Ridge is a plate-and-elastic design rather than a lever-and-cage one. We cover it on Ekster vs Ridge, leather vs metal and the Ridge alternatives roundup, which sorts the options by which Ridge weakness you are trying to fix.

The short answer

Quick picks

#ProductBest forScorePrice
01
Ekster Ekster Parliament
Ekster Parliament

The pop-up cardholder that made the format famous — premium leather over an aluminum cage, RFID-blocking, with a tracker-card option.

Best EDC cardholder
8.0
$99.00Amazon
02
VULKIT VULKIT Pop-Up Card Holder
VULKIT Pop-Up Card Holder

A leather pop-up cardholder that fans your cards with a lever for a fraction of an Ekster's price — the budget way to get the party trick.

Best budget pop-up
7.4
$23.99Amazon
03
Ekster Ekster Aluminum Cardholder
Ekster Aluminum Cardholder

The all-metal version of the Parliament's cage — an RFID pop-up cardholder for people who want the mechanism without the leather.

Metal pop-up pick
7.0
$99.00Amazon
04
VULKIT VULKIT Pop-Up Card Holder with Coin Pocket
VULKIT Pop-Up Card Holder with Coin Pocket

The top of VULKIT's range and the only one with a coin zip: the aluminum cage plus four slots, an ID window, a note pocket and a zipped coin compartment behind a magnetic flap.

Best VULKIT for cash and coins
6.6
$29.99Amazon

#ad · Live prices from the Amazon Product API, as of October 20, 2026. Where we have no verified live price, we show none — we would rather leave a gap than print a number that has rotted.

Side by side

The spec table

Every published spec that decides fit and function, side by side — with a dash wherever the maker does not publish the figure, never a guess.

ProductTypeLeatherCardsRFIDCash
Ekster ParliamentPop-up cardholderTop-grain over aluminumUp to 12YesStrap
VULKIT Pop-Up Card HolderPop-up cardholderLeather, grade not stated7 (5 in cage + 2 in slot)YesShared slot (or 2 cards)
Ekster Aluminum CardholderMetal pop-up cardholderAluminum (no leather)Up to 12YesStrap
VULKIT Pop-Up Card Holder with Coin PocketPop-up cardholder in a leather shellLeather, grade not stated10 claimed (5 in cage + 4 slots + ID)Yes (aluminum cage)Note pocket + zipped coin pocket

In detail

The picks, in full

01
Ekster Ekster Parliament

Best EDC cardholder

Ekster Parliament

Pop-upTop-grain + aluUp to 12 cardsRFID
8.0/10

The pop-up cardholder that made the format famous — premium leather over an aluminum cage, RFID-blocking, with a tracker-card option.

Slimness
9
Leather
8
Capacity
8
Build
8
Value
7

Pros

  • A thumb lever fans your top cards in a staircase — the slickest access on the site
  • Premium leather over an RFID-blocking aluminum cage, with an elastic strap for cash and extra cards
  • Ekster's solar-powered tracker card turns it into a findable wallet if you add one

Cons

  • Premium price for a card-first wallet that carries cash only on the outside strap
  • The mechanism holds a limited quick-access stack, with the rest under the strap

Skip this one if…

…you carry a lot of cash or hate a visible cash strap. A leather bifold hides folded bills where this wallet keeps them on the outside.

$99.00· View on Amazon

Price as of October 20, 2026. Prices change — Amazon's is the one that counts.

#ad · we may earn a commission from this link to Ekster Parliament

02
VULKIT VULKIT Pop-Up Card Holder

Best budget pop-up

VULKIT Pop-Up Card Holder

Pop-upLeather (grade not stated)7 cardsRFID
7.4/10

A leather pop-up cardholder that fans your cards with a lever for a fraction of an Ekster's price — the budget way to get the party trick.

Slimness
9
Leather
6
Capacity
6
Build
7
Value
9

Pros

  • A thumb lever fans your cards up in a staircase — the satisfying access an Ekster charges triple for
  • RFID-blocking aluminum core wrapped in leather, with five cards in the cage and two more in an outer slot
  • One of the cheapest ways to get mechanical pop-up access
  • A fine contrast saddle hand-stitch is called out in its own bullets — a construction detail this price rarely bothers to name

Cons

  • The mechanism and leather aren't as refined as Ekster's
  • Card-only, with just a slot for a folded bill — and that slot is the same one the last two cards use, so it is seven cards or six cards and a bill, not both
  • The title advertises up to 8 cards while its own bullets say 7; buy it on the seven
  • No leather grade is stated anywhere in the title or bullets, so the material is 'leather' and nothing more specific

Skip this one if…

…you want the premium version of this idea — the Ekster Parliament does it with better materials, an integrated cash strap and a tracker card option.

$23.99· View on Amazon

Price as of October 20, 2026. Prices change — Amazon's is the one that counts.

#ad · we may earn a commission from this link to VULKIT Pop-Up Card Holder

03
Ekster Ekster Aluminum Cardholder

Metal pop-up pick

Ekster Aluminum Cardholder

Metal pop-upAluminumUp to 12 cardsRFID
7.0/10

The all-metal version of the Parliament's cage — an RFID pop-up cardholder for people who want the mechanism without the leather.

Slimness
9
Leather
3
Capacity
8
Build
8
Value
7

Pros

  • The same satisfying pop-up mechanism in a fully aluminum, wipe-clean body
  • RFID-blocking by construction, with an expandable back for extra cards and cash
  • Slim, tough and modern — no leather to scuff or wear

Cons

  • It isn't a leather wallet — if warmth and patina are the point, this isn't it
  • Metal edges can feel cold and hard next to leather

Skip this one if…

…you came here for leather. This is the metal pick we include for contrast — the leather Parliament is the one that fits this site's brief.

$99.00· View on Amazon

Price as of October 20, 2026. Prices change — Amazon's is the one that counts.

#ad · we may earn a commission from this link to Ekster Aluminum Cardholder

04
VULKIT VULKIT Pop-Up Card Holder with Coin Pocket

Best VULKIT for cash and coins

VULKIT Pop-Up Card Holder with Coin Pocket

Pop-up + shellLeather (grade not stated)10 cards claimedCoin zip + note pocket
6.6/10

The top of VULKIT's range and the only one with a coin zip: the aluminum cage plus four slots, an ID window, a note pocket and a zipped coin compartment behind a magnetic flap.

Slimness
5
Leather
5
Capacity
9
Build
7
Value
7

Pros

  • It is the only VULKIT that solves coins at all. A zipped coin pocket is the one thing a card-holder format genuinely cannot fudge, and the alternative in this lineup is nothing
  • The note pocket is described for multiple currencies rather than just US bills, which is a real design statement — a pocket sized for a 156 mm dollar is not automatically sized for a euro
  • Ten cards with an ID window is the most carry in the range, and the four inner slots sit outside the cage so they do not eat into the mechanism's own minimum
  • A magnetic flap holding the whole thing shut is the right call once there is loose cash and change inside; the bare cage models have nothing to lose but they also hold nothing loose

Cons

  • 'PREMIUM LEATHER CASE' is the entire material claim. No grade, no origin, no tannage — on the most expensive wallet VULKIT sells, which is where you would most expect a grade to be stated
  • The headline 10 cards is an addition, not a capacity: five live in the aluminum cage and four in the shell, so the pop-up mechanism still only fans five no matter what the title says
  • Nothing in the bullets publishes a closed thickness, and this is by some distance the most feature-loaded wallet in the lineup — cage, four slots, ID film, note pocket, coin zip and a magnet all stack
  • The coin zip and the note pocket are what you are paying the brand's top price for; if you carry neither, the cheaper models deliver the identical five-card cage

Skip this one if…

…you came here for slimness. This is the thickest thing VULKIT makes by construction — six layers before a card goes in — and the brand's own metal case publishes 0.31 inches doing the one job you probably wanted.

$29.99· View on Amazon

Price as of October 20, 2026. Prices change — Amazon's is the one that counts.

#ad · we may earn a commission from this link to VULKIT Pop-Up Card Holder with Coin Pocket

Three things to check on either brand before you buy

Read the bullets, not the title

Both brands publish titles that disagree with their own feature lists. The cheap VULKIT pop-up advertises up to eight cards in the title and seven in the bullets; one of its models is called a card holder in the title and a trifold wallet in the bullets. Those are different formats with different pocket behaviour. Buy on the bullets every time — it is the same rule the slot-count page had to apply across its whole category.

Work out which number is the cage and which is the shell

Every headline capacity in this format is an addition. “Ten cards” on a VULKIT means five in the aluminum cage plus four in leather slots plus an ID window. Only the cage cards actually fan. If quick access to eight cards is what you wanted, no wallet from either brand does that — you get quick access to five and ordinary access to the rest.

Decide about RFID honestly

Both brands claim RFID blocking, and in the caged models the claim has an obvious physical basis: the cards sit inside an aluminum box. The weakest claim in either range is the VULKIT nappa holder's “advanced RFID blocking materials”, with no cage and nothing named. Whether any of it matters is a separate question and we answer it without hedging on the RFID guide: contactless fraud at a distance is rare, and shielding is a reasonable thing to want and a poor reason to pay a premium.

Prices, and what we earn

Both brands' prices are read from the live price layer and stamped with the date they were read, which is why no dollar figure appears anywhere in this prose — a comparison page that hard-codes a price gap is wrong the week after it publishes. Buy links are affiliate links and we earn on either brand, which is exactly why this page ranks them on what their listings publish rather than on which pays better. See the editorial policy.

How we picked

We do not run a testing lab

We compiled the published manufacturer specifications for every wallet here — format, leather grade, card capacity, RFID and how it carries cash — did the cost-to-own math, and scored each pick against a published rubric. The scores are judgments from documented research — they are not measurements we took or wallets we wore in, because we do not own every wallet here and we are not going to pretend we do. Where a spec could not be verified we wrote "data unavailable" rather than guessing.

Questions

Frequently asked

Is VULKIT as good as Ekster?
Mechanically they are the same idea and both work. Ekster states a leather grade (top-grain), publishes a twelve-card ceiling and sells a tracker card; VULKIT states a grade on only one model, which is the cheapest one in its range and has no cage at all. What VULKIT has instead is cash and coins: a model with a full bill compartment and a model with a zipped coin pocket, neither of which Ekster offers.
Which is better for carrying cash, Ekster or VULKIT?
VULKIT, clearly. Ekster carries notes on an outside strap or expandable back, which means folding a 6.14 in note twice and keeping it visible. VULKIT's trifold has a genuine full-length bill compartment and its top model adds a note pocket plus a zipped coin pocket.
How many cards actually pop up in these wallets?
Five, in every caged model from both brands. Any headline above that is an addition: five in the aluminum cage plus however many ordinary leather slots the shell has. If quick access to more than five cards is what you are buying, neither brand delivers it.
Is an Ekster worth three times the price of a VULKIT?
It is if you want a stated leather grade, the higher published card ceiling and the tracker ecosystem, and if you have already decided you like the format. It is not if you carry cash or coins, or if you have never owned a pop-up wallet — the cheap VULKIT is the low-risk way to find out whether you will still enjoy the lever in month three.
Do either of them publish how thick the wallet is?
Not on any leather model from either brand, which is the one specification a front-pocket buyer most wants and the biggest shared gap in this comparison. The only published thicknesses in either range are on metal cases. Five payment cards are about 0.15 in of plastic at the ISO 7810 thickness before any leather, aluminum or lever is added.

Keep reading

Receipts

Sources

We do not run a testing lab, and we do not pretend to. Every spec above traces to a manufacturer listing or a named standard; where we could not verify something, we say so on the page rather than quietly leaving it out. Read our full method.