Skip to content
Hide Thread

Bifold · Bifold & Trifold Wallets

Best Wallets with a Card Ejector (That Still Hold Cash)

The pop-up mechanism almost always comes attached to a cardholder with nowhere for notes. Five wallets that keep the thumb lever and the bill slot, ranked on the capacity each listing itemizes.

By Stephen V.Updated How we research
#ad

We earn a commission when you buy through our Amazon links, at no extra cost to you. It never affects our picks, and we say so when the cheaper wallet is the better buy. How this works.

The pick for most people is the Housmai Pop-Up Bifold — five cards fan out of an aluminum cage, four more sit in leather slots, and the listing publishes a fifteen-bill cash slot alongside them, which is the combination this entire search is looking for. If you want the mechanism with the least bulk, the miyozi with the leather-wrapped money clip publishes a 3.9 by 2.7 inch footprint and puts the notes on a clip instead of in a fold. And if coins are in your carry at all, the VULKIT with the zipped coin pocket is the only pick here that takes them.

The rule for getting on this page

Two mechanical conditions, and the second one is what makes this page exist. The wallet needs a mechanical card ejector — a thumb lever or side button that fans cards out of a cage without the wallet being opened — and it needs a published cash provision: a bill slot, a note pocket or a clip, stated in the listing's own feature bullets.

That second rule excludes almost every pop-up product sold, and it excludes the page we rank them on. The mechanism is overwhelmingly fitted to cardholders, which have no cash channel by definition — those are ranked on the pop-up card holder roundup, which is the better page if you have stopped carrying notes. This one is for the reader who wants the thumb lever and has not. The split is the whole distinction and we would rather state it than let you find out on arrival.

How a card ejector actually works, and what it costs

A cage of sprung aluminum holds a stack of cards under pressure. A lever or button lifts them in a staggered fan so you can read the one you want and pull it without touching the others. It is a genuinely good mechanism — faster than a slot, and it keeps cards from being levered over a leather edge, which is what actually cracks them.

It costs three things, and no listing on this page mentions any of them.

A minimum card count

A cage grips the stack, not the card, so an under-filled cage lets cards go. VULKIT publishes the figure on a sibling product — “At least 3 cards are needed for secure retention” — and it is the most useful sentence anyone in this category has written. If your carry is one or two cards, a mechanism is the wrong object and the two-and-three card roundup explains why a plain sewn slot beats it.

A headline number that is a sum

Every capacity figure in this category adds the cage to the leather, and only the cage cards actually pop up. The listings here are better than most because they itemize it: Housmai publishes five in the cage plus four in leather; the miyozi trifold publishes five in the cage, up to seven in the leather interior and one exterior slot. Read the split rather than the headline. Where a listing gives a range — the miyozi trifold's “9-13 cards” — the top of the range means doubling cards into slots, which works and permanently stretches the leather.

Two more things that can break

A sprung cage and a magnetic closure are both moving parts on an object that previously had none. Four of the five picks here use a magnetic flip to hold the leather shut over the metal. We have no failure data and will not invent any; what we will say is that a plain sewn bifold has no mechanism to fail, which is a real argument for the ordinary format.

Where the cash goes, and it is the real decision

Three mechanisms appear across these five picks and they are not interchangeable.

A bill slot is the full answer: Housmai and the miyozi trifold both publish fifteen bills, enclosed and flat. A leather-wrapped clip — the slimmest miyozi — costs no thickness when empty and carries ten or more notes on the outside of the wallet, where they can be seen and where they will slide once the spring softens. The listing gives the reason the clip is wrapped rather than bare: a bare metal clip scratches and tears notes. A note pocket is the VULKIT approach, and the coin-pocket model's zipped compartment is the only place on this page that loose change can go.

Worth knowing before you choose: cash is almost never what makes a wallet fat. A US Federal Reserve note is 0.0043 inches thick, so fifteen of them folded add less than five payment cards do at the ISO card thickness of about 0.03 inches. The mechanism is what you are choosing, not the capacity — the cash guide does that arithmetic properly.

The one spec in this category nobody else publishes

Housmai states that its RFID lining blocks 13.56 MHz. That is the only RFID frequency published on any listing in our entire record, and it is worth something: 13.56 MHz is the band contactless payment cards and most access badges actually use, so the claim is specific and checkable rather than the usual “advanced blocking technology”. Every other pick here claims RFID blocking without naming a band. It does not make Housmai's lining better than theirs — we have no way to know — but it is the only one that told us anything at all.

The short answer

Quick picks

#ProductBest forScorePrice
01
Housmai Housmai Pop-Up Bifold
Housmai Pop-Up Bifold

The pick that proves a card ejector and a real bill slot can coexist: five cards fan out of an aluminum cage, four more sit in leather, and the listing publishes a fifteen-bill cash slot alongside them.

Best overall
6.8
$39.99Amazon
02
miyozi miyozi Pop-Up Wallet with Money Clip
miyozi Pop-Up Wallet with Money Clip

The slimmest way to have a card ejector and still carry notes, because the notes go on a leather-wrapped clip instead of into a fold — and it publishes its footprint.

Slimmest, and best value
6.8
$23.99Amazon
03
miyozi miyozi Pop-Up Trifold
miyozi Pop-Up Trifold

The capacity end of the format: a cage, up to thirteen cards, two ID windows and a fifteen-bill slot, in a body whose published thickness it is honest enough to print.

Most capacity
6.6
$29.99Amazon
04
VULKIT VULKIT Pop-Up Card Holder with Coin Pocket
VULKIT Pop-Up Card Holder with Coin Pocket

The top of VULKIT's range and the only one with a coin zip: the aluminum cage plus four slots, an ID window, a note pocket and a zipped coin compartment behind a magnetic flap.

Best VULKIT for cash and coins
6.6
$29.99Amazon
05
VULKIT VULKIT Trifold Pop-Up Wallet
VULKIT Trifold Pop-Up Wallet

The one VULKIT with a real bill compartment: the same five-card aluminum cage folded into a hand-stitched leather trifold with three more slots and an ID window.

Best VULKIT for a bill compartment
6.4
$28.99Amazon

#ad · Live prices from the Amazon Product API, as of October 19, 2026. Where we have no verified live price, we show none — we would rather leave a gap than print a number that has rotted.

Side by side

The spec table

Every published spec that decides fit and function, side by side — with a dash wherever the maker does not publish the figure, never a guess.

ProductTypeLeatherCardsRFIDCash
Housmai Pop-Up BifoldBifold + pop-up cageLeather (grade not stated)9 (5 in cage + 4 slots)Yes (13.56 MHz stated)Cash slot, 15 bills
miyozi Pop-Up Wallet with Money ClipPop-up cage + money clipLeather (grade not stated)9 (5 in cage + 4 slots)YesLeather-wrapped clip
miyozi Pop-Up TrifoldTrifold + pop-up cageLeather (grade not stated)9-13 (5 in cage + 7 + 1 exterior)YesCash slot, 15 bills
VULKIT Pop-Up Card Holder with Coin PocketPop-up cardholder in a leather shellLeather, grade not stated10 claimed (5 in cage + 4 slots + ID)Yes (aluminum cage)Note pocket + zipped coin pocket
VULKIT Trifold Pop-Up WalletTrifold with pop-up cageLeather, grade not stated (hand-stitched)8 claimed (5 in cage + 3 slots) + IDYes (aluminum cage)Cash compartment

In detail

The picks, in full

01
Housmai Housmai Pop-Up Bifold

Best overall

Housmai Pop-Up Bifold

Bifold + aluminum cage9 cards / 15 billsRFID at 13.56 MHzMagnetic flip
6.8/10

The pick that proves a card ejector and a real bill slot can coexist: five cards fan out of an aluminum cage, four more sit in leather, and the listing publishes a fifteen-bill cash slot alongside them.

Slimness
7
Leather
5
Capacity
7
Build
8
Value
7

Pros

  • The capacity bullet is itemized rather than summed: five cards in the cage, four in leather slots of which two are inner with an ID window and two outer with finger push holes, and fifteen bills in the cash slot. Every number is attributed to a specific place in the wallet
  • It is the only listing in our entire record that publishes an RFID FREQUENCY — 13.56 MHz, which is the band contactless payment cards actually use. Everything else in the category says "blocking technology" and stops
  • Two of the four leather slots have finger push holes on the outside, so the cards you use most do not need the wallet opened either — the cage is not the only quick-access route

Cons

  • "Premium leather" names no grade, and on a wallet where the aluminum alloy gets an aviation adjective the hide getting none is a telling order of priorities
  • No closed thickness is published anywhere in the bullets. A metal cage plus a leather fold plus fifteen bills has a real thickness and the listing does not say what it is
  • A magnetic flip and a sprung cage are two mechanisms that can fail, on a wallet whose leather is the part you can least verify

Skip this one if…

…you want the thinnest possible pop-up wallet. Keeping a bill slot is the whole point of this page and it costs you a fold the pure cardholders do not have.

$39.99· View on Amazon

Price as of October 19, 2026. Prices change — Amazon's is the one that counts.

#ad · we may earn a commission from this link to Housmai Pop-Up Bifold

02
miyozi miyozi Pop-Up Wallet with Money Clip

Slimmest, and best value

miyozi Pop-Up Wallet with Money Clip

Cage + money clip9 cards / 10+ bills3.9 x 2.7 in publishedElastic small-item slot
6.8/10

The slimmest way to have a card ejector and still carry notes, because the notes go on a leather-wrapped clip instead of into a fold — and it publishes its footprint.

Slimness
8
Leather
5
Capacity
6
Build
7
Value
8

Pros

  • It publishes a compact 3.9 by 2.7 inch footprint in its own feature bullet, which most of this category declines to do, and a clip adds no thickness at all when there is no cash on it
  • The clip is leather-wrapped rather than bare metal, and the listing gives the reason: a bare clip scratches and tears notes. That is a real mechanism argument rather than a styling one
  • An elastic slot sized for two or three coins, a spare key or a SIM card is the only answer to loose change anywhere in this format, and it costs nothing when empty

Cons

  • A clip carries your notes on the OUTSIDE of the wallet, where they can be seen and where they will slide once the spring softens. A bill slot does not have that failure mode
  • No leather grade is stated, which is the pattern across every pop-up wallet we rank including the two VULKIT models
  • Nine cards means five in the cage and four in leather, and only the five in the cage actually fan out — read the split, not the headline

Skip this one if…

…you carry a working float in cash every day. A clip is right for a few notes and wrong for a thick fold; the Housmai and miyozi trifold both publish a fifteen-bill slot instead.

$23.99· View on Amazon

$39.9940% off

Price as of October 19, 2026. Prices change — Amazon's is the one that counts.

#ad · we may earn a commission from this link to miyozi Pop-Up Wallet with Money Clip

03
miyozi miyozi Pop-Up Trifold

Most capacity

miyozi Pop-Up Trifold

Trifold + cage9-13 cards / 15 bills3.9 x 2.7 x 0.82 in published2 ID windows
6.6/10

The capacity end of the format: a cage, up to thirteen cards, two ID windows and a fifteen-bill slot, in a body whose published thickness it is honest enough to print.

Slimness
6
Leather
5
Capacity
9
Build
7
Value
6

Pros

  • The highest published card capacity of any ejector wallet in our record, itemized honestly: five in the cage, up to seven in the leather interior and one in an exterior daily slot, so you can see where every card goes
  • Two ID windows is a configuration almost nothing in this format offers, and it is the right one for anyone carrying a licence and a work or duty ID that both get shown
  • It publishes 3.9 by 2.7 by 0.82 inches in a feature bullet. That 0.82 figure is the only published thickness for a cash-carrying pop-up wallet we have found, and printing your own worst number is unusual

Cons

  • 0.82 inches is thick, and that is the EMPTY figure — thirteen payment cards add roughly another four tenths of an inch at the ISO card thickness. This is a bag or back-pocket wallet once loaded
  • The capacity is published as a range of 9 to 13, which is an implicit admission that reaching thirteen means doubling cards in slots, and doubling cards is what stretches leather permanently
  • No leather grade, and the bullet copy carries the same typo-level polish as the rest of this category

Skip this one if…

…slimness is any part of why a pop-up wallet appealed to you. The mechanism was invented to make a thin wallet; at thirteen cards and 0.82 inches this is using it to make a thick one.

$29.99· View on Amazon

$43.9932% off

Price as of October 19, 2026. Prices change — Amazon's is the one that counts.

#ad · we may earn a commission from this link to miyozi Pop-Up Trifold

04
VULKIT VULKIT Pop-Up Card Holder with Coin Pocket

Best VULKIT for cash and coins

VULKIT Pop-Up Card Holder with Coin Pocket

Pop-up + shellLeather (grade not stated)10 cards claimedCoin zip + note pocket
6.6/10

The top of VULKIT's range and the only one with a coin zip: the aluminum cage plus four slots, an ID window, a note pocket and a zipped coin compartment behind a magnetic flap.

Slimness
5
Leather
5
Capacity
9
Build
7
Value
7

Pros

  • It is the only VULKIT that solves coins at all. A zipped coin pocket is the one thing a card-holder format genuinely cannot fudge, and the alternative in this lineup is nothing
  • The note pocket is described for multiple currencies rather than just US bills, which is a real design statement — a pocket sized for a 156 mm dollar is not automatically sized for a euro
  • Ten cards with an ID window is the most carry in the range, and the four inner slots sit outside the cage so they do not eat into the mechanism's own minimum
  • A magnetic flap holding the whole thing shut is the right call once there is loose cash and change inside; the bare cage models have nothing to lose but they also hold nothing loose

Cons

  • 'PREMIUM LEATHER CASE' is the entire material claim. No grade, no origin, no tannage — on the most expensive wallet VULKIT sells, which is where you would most expect a grade to be stated
  • The headline 10 cards is an addition, not a capacity: five live in the aluminum cage and four in the shell, so the pop-up mechanism still only fans five no matter what the title says
  • Nothing in the bullets publishes a closed thickness, and this is by some distance the most feature-loaded wallet in the lineup — cage, four slots, ID film, note pocket, coin zip and a magnet all stack
  • The coin zip and the note pocket are what you are paying the brand's top price for; if you carry neither, the cheaper models deliver the identical five-card cage

Skip this one if…

…you came here for slimness. This is the thickest thing VULKIT makes by construction — six layers before a card goes in — and the brand's own metal case publishes 0.31 inches doing the one job you probably wanted.

$29.99· View on Amazon

Price as of October 19, 2026. Prices change — Amazon's is the one that counts.

#ad · we may earn a commission from this link to VULKIT Pop-Up Card Holder with Coin Pocket

05
VULKIT VULKIT Trifold Pop-Up Wallet

Best VULKIT for a bill compartment

VULKIT Trifold Pop-Up Wallet

Trifold + pop-upLeather (grade not stated)8 cards + IDCash compartment
6.4/10

The one VULKIT with a real bill compartment: the same five-card aluminum cage folded into a hand-stitched leather trifold with three more slots and an ID window.

Slimness
4
Leather
6
Capacity
8
Build
7
Value
7

Pros

  • A genuine cash compartment rather than a slot or an outside pocket, which makes this the only model in the lineup that works the way a billfold works — notes lie in it instead of being folded into a card slot
  • 'Exquisite hand-stitch' is a construction claim rather than a material one, and it is the only place in VULKIT's range where the stitching is described as hand-done
  • Eight cards plus a viewable ID window is a sensible middle of the range, and unlike the coin model the extras are three slots rather than six stacked features
  • The mechanism is identical to every other pop-up in the range, so you are not paying for a lesser version of the lever to get the bill section

Cons

  • It is a trifold, by its own bullet, and that is the thickest folding format there is — three panels plus a cage. Nothing in the bullets publishes how thick, which on a trifold is the number that decides whether it is a pocket wallet at all
  • 'Supple leather' is the whole material claim: no grade, no origin, no tannage. Supple describes how it feels, which is the easiest thing to achieve with a correction coat on a low grade
  • The title calls it a 'Card Holder' and the bullets call it a trifold wallet. Those are different formats with different pocket behavior, and a buyer reading only the title will not know which arrives
  • Eight is again the cage's five plus the shell's three, so the fanning mechanism handles five of the eight and the other three are ordinary slots

Skip this one if…

…you are moving to this format to get out of a bifold. A trifold with an aluminum cage inside it is not the slim end of anything, and the brand's slotted nappa holder or its bare metal case are the two models that actually cut bulk.

$28.99· View on Amazon

Price as of October 19, 2026. Prices change — Amazon's is the one that counts.

#ad · we may earn a commission from this link to VULKIT Trifold Pop-Up Wallet

Leather grade across this whole category: not one listing names it

All five picks say “leather” or “premium leather” and stop. None says full grain, top grain or genuine, which means none of them is claiming a rung on the ladder the grade guide describes. The pattern is consistent enough to be a category fact rather than an oversight, and the reason is visible in the copy: on the Housmai listing the aluminum gets an adjective (“airplane-grade”) and the hide does not. These are sold as gadgets with leather on them.

That is worth being clear-eyed about rather than annoyed by. If what you want is a mechanism, buy the mechanism and treat the leather as trim. If what you want is a hide that will look better in five years, nothing on this page is it, and the full-grain roundup is where those live — none of them has a cage.

Thickness, and the only published figure

One pick publishes a closed thickness in its own bullets: the miyozi trifold, at 3.9 by 2.7 by 0.82 inches. We print it because it is published and because printing your own worst number is unusual — 0.82 inches is thick, and that is the empty figure. Thirteen cards add roughly four tenths of an inch more. The other four publish no thickness at all, and a metal cage plus a leather fold plus notes has a real one.

If thinness is the goal, the honest ranking inverts: the clip-only miyozi has no bill fold and is the slimmest thing here, and below that you are into slim wallets with no mechanism at all. The slot-by-slot arithmetic is in the thickness guide.

What we left off, and why

Every pure pop-up cardholder, however good — no cash provision means it fails this page's inclusion rule and belongs on the cardholder page or, if it has a clip or a cash slot, the cash-provision page. Every all-metal case, because this page is about wallets with a cage in them rather than cages with a wallet attached — those are on the RFID roundup and the Ridge alternatives page. And every listing whose leather claim was contradicted by its own bullets.

Prices, and what we earn

Prices are read live from the Amazon Product Advertising API and stamped with the date, which is why no dollar figure appears in this prose. Buy links are affiliate links and the ranking is score-ordered regardless — see the editorial policy.

How we picked

We do not run a testing lab

We compiled the published manufacturer specifications for every wallet here — format, leather grade, card capacity, RFID and how it carries cash — did the cost-to-own math, and scored each pick against a published rubric. The scores are judgments from documented research — they are not measurements we took or wallets we wore in, because we do not own every wallet here and we are not going to pretend we do. Where a spec could not be verified we wrote "data unavailable" rather than guessing.

Questions

Frequently asked

What is a card ejector wallet?
A wallet with a sprung metal cage inside it. A thumb lever or side button fans the cards out in a staggered stack so you can take one without opening the wallet. The mechanism is usually fitted to cardholders with no cash channel; the five picks on this page keep a bill slot, a note pocket or a clip as well.
Can you get a bifold wallet with a card ejector?
Yes, though they are a small part of the category. Three of the picks here are a leather fold wrapped around an aluminum cage with a magnetic closure, and two of those publish a fifteen-bill cash slot. The rest of the market puts the mechanism in a cardholder, which is why this page exists separately from the pop-up cardholder roundup.
How many cards does a pop-up wallet really hold?
Read the split, not the headline. Every figure in this category sums the cage and the leather, and only the cage cards pop up — typically five of them. Housmai publishes five in the cage plus four in leather; the miyozi trifold publishes five plus seven plus one exterior. Where the number is a range, the top of it means doubling cards into slots.
Do card ejector wallets have a minimum card count?
Yes, and it is the thing that surprises people. A cage grips the stack rather than each card, so an under-filled one lets cards slide. VULKIT publishes “At least 3 cards are needed for secure retention” on a sibling product. A plain sewn leather slot has no minimum — the capacity guide goes through it.

Keep reading

Receipts

Sources

We do not run a testing lab, and we do not pretend to. Every spec above traces to a manufacturer listing or a named standard; where we could not verify something, we say so on the page rather than quietly leaving it out. Read our full method.