Skip to content
Hide Thread

Reviews · Brand Reviews

Rogue Wallet Review

The Maine company that patented a wallet shaped to a front pocket. What its Amazon listings prove, where they part ways with the brand's own FAQ, and which of six Rogue wallets to buy.

By Stephen V.Updated How we research
#ad

We earn a commission when you buy through our Amazon links, at no extra cost to you. It never affects our picks, and we say so when the cheaper wallet is the better buy. How this works.

Most wallet brands sell a material or a look. Rogue sells a shape. According to the company's own about page, Rogue Industries was founded in 2007 by Michael Lyons, who was unhappy with his bulky back-pocket wallet and went on to obtain two patents on "a front pocket wallet design that was shaped to fit the cut of your front pants pocket." That curved wallet is still what the brand is known for, and it is the wallet we rank first in our best front-pocket wallets roundup.

Shopping for one is harder than it should be. Across our searches of Amazon's catalog, the Rogue Wallet storefront returned more than a dozen listings: curved wallets in leather, bison and ballistic nylon, a slim RFID model in three colorways, a money-clip wallet, a flat twelve-slot bifold that is not a front-pocket wallet at all, card sleeves, a zip wallet and a checkbook cover. The titles overlap, the leather claims contradict each other, and the question many buyers care about most, whether the wallet is made in Maine, has a different answer depending on which listing you open.

This review is the map. As with every review on this site it is research, not a wear test: we have not carried these wallets, and everything below is compiled from Rogue's own Amazon listings and feature bullets, checked on 2026-09-16, plus three pages of the brand's own website, exactly as our published methodology describes.

What Rogue actually designed

A normal wallet is a rectangle, and a rectangle is the wrong shape for a front trouser pocket, which is why a flat bifold tends to sit crooked in one and press into your thigh when you sit. Rogue's homepage describes its answer as a wallet "curved to follow the shape of your pocket, slim enough to disappear." The listings describe the same thing as a rounded silhouette that matches the contour of the pocket, so the wallet slides down into it rather than wedging across it.

That is a real design idea, and it is also a narrow one. The curve does its job in exactly one place: a front trouser pocket. In a jacket, a bag or a back pocket it is simply a wallet that does not lie square. So the first question in any Rogue purchase is not which model, it is where you carry. If you are still deciding whether to move your wallet to the front at all, our front-pocket versus back-pocket guide makes that case first.

Two of the ranked listings go further and say the curve reduces or eases back pain, and the brand's about page says its founder was convinced his old wallet was causing his. None of those pages offers evidence, and none is a medical source, so we have not repeated the claim as a benefit on any pick below. What is uncontroversial is simpler: a wallet in your front pocket is a wallet you are not sitting on.

Which Rogue wallets are made in Maine?

This is the finding that matters most, and one this site had partly wrong until this review.

Rogue's FAQ answers the question directly. Asked "Are all of your products made in Maine?", it says: "No. Our Made in Maine Collection is made in the USA. Products not in the Made in Maine collection are not." The company's workshop is in Standish, Maine, and the brand tells its story from there, which makes it easy to assume everything with the Rogue name is stitched in Maine. By the brand's own account, it is not. Rogue is a mixed-line brand: some of its wallets are made in Maine and some are imported, often under very similar names.

Now apply that to what is actually for sale on Amazon. Of the six Rogue wallets we rank:

  • The bison front-pocket wallet is the only listing that states US manufacture, in a bullet headed "Handcrafted in Maine", and Rogue's Made in Maine collection does include an American bison leather front-pocket wallet.
  • The ballistic-nylon front-pocket wallet states the opposite in its own bullets: imported from India.
  • The other four (the slim RFID wallet, the curved leather bifold, the money-clip wallet and the twelve-slot bifold) say nothing about where they are made, and none of their names appears in the Made in Maine collection on Rogue's website. Under the brand's own FAQ, you should not treat them as US-made.

The curved leather bifold deserves a specific warning. Rogue's website sells a product named "Rogue Front Pocket Wallet - Classic Made in Maine Edition" in that collection. The Amazon listing for the curved top-grain bifold looks like the same classic wallet, but its title and bullets never use that name and never mention Maine. It may be a different product, or it may be the same one described badly; either way the listing does not claim it, so we do not claim it on the seller's behalf. If US manufacture is the reason you want a Rogue, buy the bison wallet on Amazon, or buy the named Made in Maine edition from Rogue directly.

About this site getting it wrong: before this review was published, the product notes on the nylon Rogue in two of our roundups said Rogue's leather wallets are made in Maine and told readers who wanted US manufacture to "buy the leather model." On the brand's own FAQ that advice could have sent a reader to an imported wallet, so it now points at the bison listing instead. Our made-in-USA leather wallet roundup, which admits a wallet only when its own listing states US manufacture, had already ranked the bison wallet and nothing else from Rogue. That is the listing-first rule working as intended.

Full-grain, top-grain or "genuine": the line does not agree with itself

The second thing to read on any Rogue listing is the leather bullet, because the storefront uses at least four different descriptions and they are not interchangeable.

The slim RFID wallet, the curved leather bifold and the twelve-slot bifold all say top-grain. The ballistic-nylon wallet says top-grain too, but only for its trim and interior; the body is nylon. The money-clip wallet says only genuine leather, which can mean plain "real leather" or can be the trade name for a grade below top-grain, and the listing does not say which. The bison listing says bison and never states a grade. And one listing, a "Slim Front Pocket Leather Wallet" in a Redline colorway, says full-grain, while a near-identical "Slim Leather Front Pocket Wallet" in Black/Redline from the same storefront says top-grain.

Those two Redline listings are the clearest example of why a title is not enough. They are different ASINs at different prices, their titles differ only in word order and color name, and one claims a higher grade than the other. The full-grain listing publishes only three feature bullets and no layout at all (no card count, no ID window, no bill section), which is why we could not score its capacity and have not ranked it. If full-grain matters to you, that is the listing to look at, and our full-grain versus top-grain versus genuine explainer covers whether the difference is worth paying for on a wallet.

The warranty lives on Rogue's website, not on Amazon

Rogue publishes a warranty, and it is a clear one. The FAQ calls it a two-year guarantee that "covers defects in materials (leather, rivets, zippers and such) and workmanship for two years from the date of purchase," with covered products "repaired or replaced at no charge." It excludes wear and tear from normal use, naming worn edges and creased leather, along with final-sale items and factory seconds.

None of the six Amazon listings we rank mentions it. Not one feature bullet refers to a guarantee, a warranty or a return policy. We are not suggesting an Amazon purchase is excluded, and the FAQ does not say that. We are pointing out that the terms are not on the page you buy from, so if the warranty is part of your decision, read it on Rogue's site before you order. One part of the policy is clearly tied to where you buy: the FAQ's 30-day return and exchange window is written for "any unused product purchased directly from Rogue Industries," with embossed items excluded. An Amazon order goes back through Amazon.

For context, two years covering defects is a narrower promise than the lifetime warranty some leather makers print on their listings, which our Main Street Forge review checks listing by listing. It is a promise that the wallet was made properly, not that it will last forever.

Which Rogue wallet should you buy?

The ranked list below orders the six by overall score on our standard five-metric wallet rubric (slimness, leather, capacity, build and value). That rubric does not score the curve, which is why the one flat back-pocket bifold in the line sits second. If front-pocket carry is your reason for buying Rogue, read the list with that wallet taken out. The short version:

Buy the slim leather front-pocket wallet with RFID if you want one Rogue and do not want to think about it further. It is the only model that combines the curve, an RFID lining, an ID window, a full-length bill section and a published six-to-eight-card rating. It is top-grain rather than full-grain and it is not a Made in Maine product, and it is still the most complete wallet the brand sells on Amazon.

Buy the curved leather bifold if you carry very little and want the thinnest version of the original idea. Its listing publishes a 0.25in thickness and a hard limit of three cards plus an ID. It has no RFID lining, and the listing does not claim one.

Buy the bison wallet if US manufacture is the point. It is the only Rogue on Amazon whose listing says handcrafted in Maine, it has an RFID lining, and it sits at the top of the line's price range for the same small three-slot layout as the nylon model. You are paying for the hide and the workshop, not for capacity.

Buy the ballistic-nylon wallet if you want the curve in a material built to take abuse. It has RFID, and it is the least leather wallet on a leather site: a nylon body with leather trim, imported. It is also the Rogue our front-pocket roundup ranks first, on the strength of the shape.

Buy the money-clip wallet if you carry a few bills and want them fast. It is the only Rogue we rank that clips cash on the outside, and it carries the weakest leather description in the line. Our front-pocket money-clip wallet roundup compares that format across other brands.

Buy the twelve-slot RFID bifold only if you want the Rogue name on a conventional wallet. Its listing is refreshingly complete and honest that it is a hip-pocket wallet. It is also the one Rogue that does not do the thing Rogue was founded to do.

The short answer

Quick picks

#ProductBest forScorePrice
01
Rogue Industries Rogue Wallet Slim Leather Front Pocket (RFID)
Rogue Wallet Slim Leather Front Pocket (RFID)

The most complete wallet Rogue sells on Amazon: the curved front-pocket shape plus an RFID lining, an ID window and a published six-to-eight-card rating, in top-grain rather than full-grain leather.

Best Rogue wallet for most people
7.4
$45.00Amazon
02
Rogue Industries Rogue Wallet RFID Leather Bifold (12 Slots)
Rogue Wallet RFID Leather Bifold (12 Slots)

Rogue's back-pocket wallet: no curve, a published 0.8in thickness, twelve card slots plus two on a middle flap, and two ID windows. The one to buy if you want the brand but not the format it is known for.

Best Rogue for a full card load
7.2
$40.00Amazon
03
Rogue Industries Rogue Wallet Curved Leather Bifold
Rogue Wallet Curved Leather Bifold

The original Rogue idea at its simplest: a curved top-grain bifold with a published 0.25in thickness, three cards, an ID slot and a billfold, and no RFID lining.

Thinnest Rogue with a billfold
7.0
$40.00Amazon
04
Rogue Industries Rogue Front Pocket Wallet
Rogue Front Pocket Wallet

The wallet actually shaped for a front pocket — a gentle curve that follows your leg, in ballistic nylon with top-grain leather trim and an RFID lining.

Best true front-pocket shape
6.8
$35.00Amazon
05
Rogue Industries Rogue Wallet Bison Front Pocket
Rogue Wallet Bison Front Pocket

The only pick here whose listing claims both US manufacture and RFID blocking — Rogue's signature curve, cut from bison hide and handcrafted in Maine.

Best US-made wallet with RFID
6.6
$65.00Amazon
06
Rogue Industries Rogue Wallet Minimalist Money Clip Wallet (RFID)
Rogue Wallet Minimalist Money Clip Wallet (RFID)

Rogue's clip-carry option: a leather card wallet with an antique-bronze money clip, an RFID lining and an ID pocket, carrying the vaguest leather claim in the line.

Best Rogue for cash on a clip
6.4
$40.00Amazon

#ad · Live prices from the Amazon Product API, as of Sep 22, 2026. Where we have no verified live price, we show none — we would rather leave a gap than print a number that has rotted.

Side by side

The spec table

Every published spec that decides fit and function, side by side — with a dash wherever the maker does not publish the figure, never a guess.

ProductTypeLeatherCardsRFIDCash
Rogue Wallet Slim Leather Front Pocket (RFID)Curved front-pocket bifoldTop-grain6–8 (3 slots + ID window)YesYes (full-length)
Rogue Wallet RFID Leather Bifold (12 Slots)Flat bifold (back pocket)Top-grain12 slots + 2 on flapYesYes (divided)
Rogue Wallet Curved Leather BifoldCurved front-pocket bifoldTop-grainUp to 3 + ID slotNot statedYes (billfold)
Rogue Front Pocket WalletCurved front-pocketBallistic nylon, top-grain trim3 slots + ID pocketYesYes
Rogue Wallet Bison Front PocketCurved front-pocketBison3 + ID slotYesYes
Rogue Wallet Minimalist Money Clip Wallet (RFID)Card wallet + money clipGenuine leather (no grade)Not statedYesMoney clip

In detail

The picks, in full

01
Rogue Industries Rogue Wallet Slim Leather Front Pocket (RFID)

Best Rogue wallet for most people

Rogue Wallet Slim Leather Front Pocket (RFID)

Curved front-pocketTop-grain6–8 cardsRFID
7.4/10

The most complete wallet Rogue sells on Amazon: the curved front-pocket shape plus an RFID lining, an ID window and a published six-to-eight-card rating, in top-grain rather than full-grain leather.

Slimness
8
Leather
7
Capacity
6
Build
8
Value
8

Pros

  • The only curved Rogue rated for more than three cards: the listing publishes six to eight across three slots, rather than leaving you to guess what the slots hold
  • Curve, RFID lining, ID window, a full-length bill section and a published card rating in one wallet; no other Rogue we rank publishes all five
  • A stash pocket behind the main layout gives a second place for the card or folded bill you rarely reach for

Cons

  • Top-grain, not full-grain. A near-identical "Redline" listing from the same storefront claims full-grain, so read the leather bullet on the exact listing you buy
  • The listing states no origin, and this model is not in Rogue's Made in Maine collection. Rogue's own FAQ says products outside that collection are not made in the USA
  • The bullets publish no wallet dimensions, so we have not printed a thickness for it
  • The listing says the curve reduces back pain. It offers no evidence, and we do not repeat it as a benefit

Skip this one if…

you carry in a back pocket or a jacket. Every advantage this wallet has over a flat slim bifold comes from the curve, and the curve does nothing outside a front trouser pocket.

$45.00· View on Amazon

Price as of Sep 22, 2026. Prices change — Amazon's is the one that counts.

#ad · we may earn a commission from this link to Rogue Wallet Slim Leather Front Pocket (RFID)

02
Rogue Industries Rogue Wallet RFID Leather Bifold (12 Slots)

Best Rogue for a full card load

Rogue Wallet RFID Leather Bifold (12 Slots)

Flat bifoldTop-grain cowhide12 + 2 slotsRFID
7.2/10

Rogue's back-pocket wallet: no curve, a published 0.8in thickness, twelve card slots plus two on a middle flap, and two ID windows. The one to buy if you want the brand but not the format it is known for.

Slimness
5
Leather
7
Capacity
9
Build
8
Value
7

Pros

  • The listing publishes nearly everything: 4.3 x 3.5 x 0.8 inches, about 2 oz, twelve slots, two flap slots, two ID windows and a divided bill section
  • Two ID windows let you show a license and a work badge without taking either one out
  • An RFID lining stitched into top-grain cowhide, both stated on the listing

Cons

  • It is not a front-pocket wallet, and the listing says so: it is sold as a traditional hip-pocket wallet, with no curve
  • At a published 0.8in it is more than three times the published thickness of the curved leather bifold, and sitting on a wallet that thick is the habit Rogue's first wallet was designed to end
  • No origin is stated, and the model is not in Rogue's Made in Maine collection

Skip this one if…

you are buying Rogue for the curve. This wallet has none, and a flat twelve-slot RFID bifold is easy to find from other brands.

$40.00· View on Amazon

Price as of Sep 22, 2026. Prices change — Amazon's is the one that counts.

#ad · we may earn a commission from this link to Rogue Wallet RFID Leather Bifold (12 Slots)

03
Rogue Industries Rogue Wallet Curved Leather Bifold

Thinnest Rogue with a billfold

Rogue Wallet Curved Leather Bifold

Curved front-pocketTop-grainUp to 3 cards + ID0.25in thick
7.0/10

The original Rogue idea at its simplest: a curved top-grain bifold with a published 0.25in thickness, three cards, an ID slot and a billfold, and no RFID lining.

Slimness
9
Leather
7
Capacity
3
Build
8
Value
8

Pros

  • The only curved Rogue we rank whose listing publishes all three dimensions: 5 x 3.4 x 0.25 inches, which is thin enough to disappear in a front pocket
  • Top-grain leather cut to the curve, with a real billfold for folded cash: the shape the brand was founded on, without the extra layers
  • The seller states the ceiling plainly (three cards) instead of advertising a capacity the wallet cannot comfortably hold

Cons

  • No RFID lining is claimed anywhere on the listing. If you want shielding, the slim RFID model is the same idea with it
  • Three cards is a hard limit, stated by the seller, and it will not suit anyone who carries more than a debit card, a credit card and a license
  • The title says "3 ID Slots"; the bullets say three card slots and one ID slot. We have published the bullets, which are the more specific claim
  • The listing never says where it is made. Rogue's website sells a separately named "Classic Made in Maine Edition", and this Amazon listing does not use that name, so do not assume it is that wallet

Skip this one if…

you carry more than three cards and an ID. The seller says three, and a curved wallet stuffed past its design point stops sitting flat.

$40.00· View on Amazon

Price as of Sep 22, 2026. Prices change — Amazon's is the one that counts.

#ad · we may earn a commission from this link to Rogue Wallet Curved Leather Bifold

04
Rogue Industries Rogue Front Pocket Wallet

Best true front-pocket shape

Rogue Front Pocket Wallet

CurvedNylon + leather trim3 slots + IDRFID
6.8/10

The wallet actually shaped for a front pocket — a gentle curve that follows your leg, in ballistic nylon with top-grain leather trim and an RFID lining.

Slimness
8
Leather
6
Capacity
4
Build
8
Value
8

Pros

  • The signature curved back genuinely conforms to a front trouser pocket where a flat bifold fights it
  • A tough ballistic-nylon body with top-grain leather trim and interior — it wears in, not out
  • A built-in RFID-blocking lining, which is rare at this price

Cons

  • The leather-and-nylon look is more utilitarian than a full-leather wallet
  • Capacity is deliberately modest to keep the curve slim: three card slots and an ID pocket
  • The listing states this nylon version is imported from India. If US manufacture is the point, buy Rogue's bison wallet, whose listing states it is handcrafted in Maine

Skip this one if…

you carry in a jacket or back pocket, where the curve does nothing for you. A flat bifold or cardholder makes more sense there.

$35.00· View on Amazon

Price as of Sep 22, 2026. Prices change — Amazon's is the one that counts.

#ad · we may earn a commission from this link to Rogue Front Pocket Wallet

05
Rogue Industries Rogue Wallet Bison Front Pocket

Best US-made wallet with RFID

Rogue Wallet Bison Front Pocket

Curved front-pocketBison leather3 cards + IDRFID
6.6/10

The only pick here whose listing claims both US manufacture and RFID blocking — Rogue's signature curve, cut from bison hide and handcrafted in Maine.

Slimness
8
Leather
7
Capacity
4
Build
8
Value
6

Pros

  • The listing states it is handcrafted in Maine AND that it blocks RFID — the only entry on this list that publishes both claims
  • The curved back is a real design idea, not a styling flourish: it follows the shape of a front trouser pocket instead of fighting it
  • Bison hide is thicker and more textured than cowhide, and it hides scuffs well

Cons

  • Three card slots plus an ID pocket is a small carry for the money — this is the least capacity per dollar on the list
  • The listing says bison leather but never states the grade, so we cannot tell you whether it is full-grain or top-grain
  • The curve only helps in a front pocket; in a jacket or a bag it is just a wallet that will not lie flat

Skip this one if…

you carry in a back pocket or a bag. The curve is the whole point of this wallet and you would be paying for it without using it.

$65.00· View on Amazon

Price as of Sep 22, 2026. Prices change — Amazon's is the one that counts.

#ad · we may earn a commission from this link to Rogue Wallet Bison Front Pocket

06
Rogue Industries Rogue Wallet Minimalist Money Clip Wallet (RFID)

Best Rogue for cash on a clip

Rogue Wallet Minimalist Money Clip Wallet (RFID)

Card wallet + clipGenuine leatherNo card count publishedRFID
6.4/10

Rogue's clip-carry option: a leather card wallet with an antique-bronze money clip, an RFID lining and an ID pocket, carrying the vaguest leather claim in the line.

Slimness
8
Leather
5
Capacity
5
Build
7
Value
7

Pros

  • The only Rogue we rank that clips cash on the outside instead of folding it inside, which is the slimmer way to carry a few bills
  • An RFID lining and an ID pocket in a wallet the listing says is designed for front-pocket carry
  • Hidden pockets sit behind the card pockets, a second layer for cards you rarely use

Cons

  • The leather is described only as "genuine leather", the one wording on a Rogue listing that names no grade at all
  • The layout bullet is garbled ("2 exterior, interior card pockets") and no card count is published, so we have left capacity blank rather than guess
  • A clip keeps your cash on the outside of the wallet, where it is on show every time you pay
  • No origin is stated, and the model is not in Rogue's Made in Maine collection

Skip this one if…

you carry receipts or a thick fold of bills. A clip is built for a few bills; a billfold hides and holds more.

$40.00· View on Amazon

Price as of Sep 22, 2026. Prices change — Amazon's is the one that counts.

#ad · we may earn a commission from this link to Rogue Wallet Minimalist Money Clip Wallet (RFID)

How to read a Rogue listing on Amazon

Four habits will stop you from buying the wrong one.

Read the model words, not the color. The slim RFID wallet is sold as separate Black, Brown and Black/Redline listings; the money-clip wallet as Black, Brown and Redline; the curved leather bifold as brown and distressed brown. Those are colorways of one product with separate stock and sometimes separate prices. What separates the actual models is the phrase in the title: slim leather front pocket, genuine leather bifold curved, ballistic nylon, bison, minimalist money clip, RFID leather bifold.

Read the leather bullet on the exact listing. As covered above, two Redline listings from the same storefront disagree about grade. Do not carry a claim from one colorway or near-twin over to another.

Trust dimensions in the bullets, not Amazon's size table. Only two of the wallets we rank publish their size in their feature bullets: the curved leather bifold at 5 x 3.4 x 0.25 inches and the twelve-slot bifold at 4.3 x 3.5 x 0.8 inches. The structured item-dimension tables on several other Rogue listings describe something far larger than a wallet (the bison listing's table reads 11 by 8 by 9 inches), so they cannot be measuring the wallet itself. We have not published a thickness for any Rogue whose bullets leave it out.

Read the title against the bullets. The curved leather bifold's title says "3 ID Slots"; its bullets say three card slots that hold up to three cards, plus one ID slot. When the two disagree, the bullet is usually the more specific claim, and it is the one we publish.

What else Rogue sells on Amazon, and why we did not rank it

The Angler front-pocket wallet is a vertical top-grain wallet with six double-capacity card slots, a rear ID window, a top-opening full-length cash compartment and a front display window holding a decorative fishing fly. Its listing publishes 3.5 x 3.75 x 0.2 inches and about 1 oz, and states no origin. On the day we checked it showed single-digit stock, and we chose not to rank a wallet a reader may not be able to buy by the time they click through. If the fly appeals to you, search it by name.

The leather and nylon zip wallet pairs a nylon exterior with full-grain inner leather, five card slots rated for ten cards, a cash slot and an expandable coin pouch. It is a zip-around rather than a front-pocket design, which is the format our zip-around wallet roundup covers.

The full-grain Redline slim wallet is the listing discussed above: the only Rogue front-pocket wallet we found on Amazon that claims full-grain leather, and one that publishes no layout, so there is no capacity we could honestly score.

Rogue also sells RFID-blocking card sleeves in ten-packs, a leather checkbook cover whose title says made in USA, and a leather accordion zip wallet. None is a front-pocket wallet. The sleeves answer a narrower question, whether you need RFID blocking at all, which our guide to whether RFID wallets are worth it takes on directly.

Is a Rogue wallet worth the money?

The Amazon line sits in the lower middle of the leather wallet market: above the budget RFID front-pocket wallets that crowd the bestseller lists, and well below the heritage workshops that sell direct. Within that bracket, what you are paying Rogue for is the curve, the design work behind it and a named company with a published guarantee. On most of these listings you are not paying for full-grain leather, and you are not paying for US manufacture.

That makes the value question personal. If you carry in a front pocket every day, the shape is the one thing a cheaper flat wallet cannot give you, and the slim RFID model is fair value for it. If you mostly carry in a jacket or a back pocket, the same money buys more leather or more features elsewhere. Our front-pocket wallet roundup ranks the Rogue against flat slim wallets from Bellroy, Travelambo, Buffway and others, and our cost-to-own method is the fairer way to compare a wallet you will keep for years against one you will replace.

Who should skip Rogue

Skip the brand if you carry in a back pocket, a jacket or a bag, because the curve is what you would be paying for and you would never use it. Skip the curved models if you carry more than a handful of cards: the published figures run from three cards on the curved leather bifold to six-to-eight on the slim RFID model, and a curved wallet overfilled stops sitting flat. Skip the curved leather bifold specifically if you need RFID blocking, because its listing does not claim it; every other Rogue we rank does, and our RFID-blocking wallet roundup has more options. And skip Rogue on Amazon if you want a US-made wallet in anything other than bison: on the brand's own FAQ the Made in Maine wallets are a separate collection, and apart from the bison wallet, the Amazon listings we ranked do not claim to belong to it.

What is left is a clear buyer: someone who has moved, or wants to move, a slim carry to the front pocket and wants a wallet cut for it by the company that designed the shape. For that person the slim RFID wallet is the one to start with, and the bison wallet is the one to buy if Maine matters.

How we picked

We do not run a testing lab

We compiled the published manufacturer specifications for every wallet here — format, leather grade, card capacity, RFID and how it carries cash — did the cost-to-own math, and scored each pick against a published rubric. The scores are judgments from documented research — they are not measurements we took or wallets we wore in, because we do not own every wallet here and we are not going to pretend we do. Where a spec could not be verified we wrote "data unavailable" rather than guessing.

Questions

Frequently asked

Are Rogue wallets made in the USA?
Some are. Rogue's FAQ says its Made in Maine Collection is made in the USA and that products outside that collection are not. On Amazon, the bison front-pocket wallet is the only Rogue we rank whose listing states Maine manufacture; the ballistic-nylon wallet states it is imported from India, and the other four listings state no origin. Our made-in-USA wallet roundup applies the same listing-first test to every brand. We verify what the seller publishes; we do not audit factories.
Do Rogue wallets block RFID?
Five of the six we rank claim RFID blocking, and three of those listings name the lining WalletGuard. The exception is the curved leather bifold, whose listing makes no RFID claim at all, so we do not claim it either. If shielding is a requirement, buy the slim RFID model instead, or start from our RFID-blocking wallet roundup.
What is the warranty on a Rogue wallet?
Rogue's FAQ publishes a two-year guarantee covering defects in materials and workmanship from the date of purchase, with covered products repaired or replaced at no charge. Wear and tear from normal use is not covered, and neither are final-sale items or factory seconds. None of the Amazon listings we checked mentions the guarantee, and the FAQ's 30-day return window is written for products bought directly from Rogue.
How many cards does a Rogue front-pocket wallet hold?
On published figures, the curved leather bifold holds up to three cards plus an ID, and the slim RFID wallet is rated for six to eight cards across three slots and an ID window. The bison and nylon wallets publish three card slots and an ID pocket but no card count, so we have not invented one. If you carry a dozen cards, the twelve-slot bifold holds them, but it is a back-pocket wallet. Our guide to how many cards a wallet should hold is worth reading before you size down.
Is a Rogue wallet better than a cheaper front-pocket wallet?
Only if you carry in a front pocket. The curve is the thing a cheaper flat slim wallet cannot copy, and it is the only part of a Rogue that works better than the alternatives in that one pocket. If you carry anywhere else, a flat slim wallet costs less and often holds more; our front-pocket wallet roundup ranks both kinds side by side.

Keep reading

Receipts

Sources

We do not run a testing lab, and we do not pretend to. Every spec above traces to a manufacturer listing or a named standard; where we could not verify something, we say so on the page rather than quietly leaving it out. Read our full method.